Step 1: Kuala Lumpur

Standard

Well, I am at least in the right continent today. Landed at Kuala Lumpur at 7am to the news that it was really 5am!! Not a coffee shop in sight-not an open one anyway!! So I took a stroll through the airport jungle enclosure and did some power walking to get rid of the swelling in my legs.
After a few really strong cups of coffee I logged on to the airport’s free wi-fi account and sent some emails off to family and friends-just in case someone is worried about a 52 yr old woman travelling alone to rural Cambodia!
Had my first cultural misunderstanding-the ladies on the PA at KL international airport only speak
Malaysian (funny that!) and I hopped on a train to the international terminal in KL but had no idea where to get off. Thankfully a thoughtful young lady turned to me and sent me on the right path to the plane to Siem Reap, complete with boarding pass. Amazing the effect a smile has when you can’t understand a word someone is saying.

Looks like my plane to Siem Reap is boarding now so I will sign off.Am a little scared, excited and thrilled all at once! Talk to you again in Cambodia.

One response »

Leave a comment